schaumburg idol

Schaumburg Idol 2013: Results Show

Garrett Ryan is the 2013 Schaumburg Idol.

The group song is available here.

The full episode is available here.

Performances below are listed alphabetically by contestant's last name.


The fifth annual singing contest began with twelve contestants and ended with only one Schaumburg Idol.

Schaumburg Idol, Schaumburg Park District’s annual search for the next singing superstar, reached its final round last week with performances from Garrett Ryan, 18, and Alexa Molidor, 14. At the fifth season’s results show, Ryan went home with the title of Schaumburg Idol.

Even though both finalists stunned the judges from the first round, only one was able to take home the title. The winner was determined by a combination of the judges’ votes and online voting at

Ryan, an incoming freshman at University of Illinois, has been singing since he joined choir freshman year of high school. In high school, he participated in chorus for four years, took singing lessons with a voice teacher and performed in talent shows. Ryan also has been playing guitar since he was 12 years old.

He plans to put his electrical engineering studies first as he enters college, but hopes to schedule open mics during his time in school.

“Music is a passion of mine,” said Ryan. “I encourage others to keep doing what they love and pursue their passions.”

Ryan competed against Molidor for the title of Schaumburg Idol.

Molidor, a freshman at South Elgin High School, started singing when she was 8 years old. She has participated in Bartlett Idol, talent shows and other competitions. Molidor also has been in church choir since fifth grade, band since seventh grade and taken voice lessons.

She plans on becoming a voice coach or elementary school music teacher in the future and continuing to participate in singing competitions.

“Schaumburg Idol was a great experience and it really helped me grow as a musician,” said Molidor.

This year’s contestants also included Taylor Adams, Julia Cicero, Kathleen Cicero, Sophia Clinite, Kaitlyn DiSalvo, Alisha Jury, Isabella Ledonne, Susan Magnani, Katerina Perez and Olivia Senese.

Additional Resources to Explore