Commissioners Recognized At IAPD's Best of the Best Awards Gala

Commissioners Recognized At IAPD's Best of the Best Awards Gala

November 7, 2023

The Illinois Association of Park District's prestigious Best of the Best Awards Gala, hosted on Oct. 20 at the Chevy Chase Country Club in Wheeling, served as a platform to celebrate exceptional achievements within the park district community. Schaumburg Park District Commissioners David Johnson and Robert Schmidt were recognized for their unparalleled contributions and unwavering commitment to parks and recreation, marking 50 and 20 years of service, respectively.

David Johnson, an advocate for nature and conservation, has exemplified his dedication through 50 years of exceptional service to Schaumburg Park District. His legacy stands tall, with some of the most memorable achievements including the acquisition of land that later became the renowned 135-acre Spring Valley Nature Center and Heritage Farm. Johnson cherishes the memory of staff orchestrating the relocation of the farm’s substantial barn to its current site—a remarkable endeavor symbolizing community unity, completed board by board and peg by peg.

Robert Schmidt, celebrated for his commendable 20 years of service, stands as one of Schaumburg's longest-serving commissioners. His visionary leadership has been vital to the District's success in delivering a multitude of innovative programs and events, exceptional recreational facilities, and more than 100 beautiful parks to the community.

Under Johnson and Schmidt’s guidance, the District received Distinguished Accredited Agency status three times, in 2010, 2016 and 2022.

The recognition of these two outstanding commissioners at the Best of the Best Awards Gala stands as a testament to their extraordinary commitment and invaluable contributions, marking a profound impact on Schaumburg Park District's enduring success.

Back to News